Dom or Tom Guadeloupe

Dom ou tom guadeloupe

What is the difference between DOM and TOM?

The overseas departments are separate departments, general council, prefect, deputies, senators, etc. The TOMs are French territories which have a separate status, but like the DOMs they have deputies and senators.

Is Mauritius part of the Dom-tom?

There are five overseas departments or regions (DOM): Guadeloupe (971) is an archipelago in the Caribbean region. Lesser Antilles. … With Maurici and Rodrigues, it forms the Mascarene archipelago with a population of 833,943.

What is the most beautiful Dom-tom?

Do you want to live abroad with your children? In this case, it is recommended to give preference to overseas departments and territories with a good health infrastructure, as well as a wide choice of schools. This is the case in Reunion, Martinique, Guadeloupe and Guyana.

What are DROMs and coms?

Martinique, Guadeloupe, Guyana, Réunion and Mayotte form the overseas departments-regions (DROM); Wallis and Futuna, French Polynesia, Saint-Martin, Saint-Barthélemy and Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon form the overseas collectivities (COM).

Which Dom-tom Islands is the best to live there?

The advantage of living in a Dom-Tom is to discover the surrounding countries. From Reunion or Mayotte, South Africa, Madagascar or Mauritius are not far away. It’s a whole region at your disposal. The same thing in the West Indies with the Caribbean region to explore or in Guyana with Brazil nearby.

What are the coms?

An overseas community (COM) is a French overseas territory with specific status and institutions. This state concerns French Polynesia, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Martin, Saint Pierre and Miquelon and Wallis and Futuna.

Which Drom has the largest area?

Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon It consists mainly of two islands, Saint-Pierre the largest and Miquelon. Its capital is Saint-Pierre. It has an area of ​​​​25 km2 and a population of 6274 (2017).

What are the DOM countries?

The overseas territories are 12 territories: Guadeloupe, Guyana, Martinique, Réunion, Mayotte, New Caledonia, French Polynesia, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Martin, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, the French Southern and Antarctic Lands and the Wallis Islands – i-Futuna, about 2.6 million …

What are the French Overseas Countries?

7 overseas communities (COM): New Caledonia, French Polynesia, Saint Barthélemy; Sant Marti; Saint Pierre and Miquelon; the southern and Antarctic French territories and Wallis and Futuna.

Why does France need Dom-toms?

Since the constitutional reform of 2003, the status of overseas departments and territories has changed in France. Overseas departments technically became DROM or overseas departments and territories (for “overseas department and region”) and overseas territories disappeared, with the exception of lands from the south, to make way for com (for “overseas community”). Weak. “).

Which country has the most overseas territories?

Among the OCTs, the most populated countries and territories are New Caledonia and French Polynesia, both with around 270,000 inhabitants.

Who is part of the DOM?

The overseas departments and regions (DROM) are governed by article 73 of the Constitution. This state affects Guadeloupe, Martinique, Guyana, Reunion and Mayotte. The laws and regulations applicable in metropolitan France apply by law (legislative regime of identity).

What are the TOMs of France?

However, the status of overseas territory was maintained until 2003, when the rest of the TOM (Mayotte, French Polynesia, Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon, Wallis-i-Futuna) became overseas collectivities (excluding Mayotte, which is an overseas department ).

What are the French overseas departments?

Guadeloupe and Reunion are overseas departments and overseas regions. Guyana, Martinique and Mayotte (which exercises the powers of the overseas departments and regions and takes the name of “Department of Mayotte) are three unique communities.